Which Wizard: Who's Who in the Wizarding World. This page has been updated for Book 7.

The Minister for Magic

The Minister for Magic (also refered to as the Minister of Magic) is the head of the government for the Wizarding world. The Minister enjoys a position of great prominence and prestige. He represents the British magical community in international affairs and sets the tone for the policies of the Ministre of Magic. The Minister for Magic also presides over the Wizengamot.

The post of Minister for Magic was established with the creation of the Ministry of Magic after the International Statute of Secrecy went into effect. The first Minister, Ulick Gamp, took office in 1707.

During Harry's years at Hogwarts, the following men held the post of Minister for Magic:

Cornelius FudgeCornelius Oswald Fudge 1990 - 1996
Cornelius Fudge was Minister for Magic from 1990through June of 1996. He was elected to the post in 1990after Millicent Bagnold retired. His campaign slogan was "A fair deal for Wizards who deal fair with Muggles!" (DP2). At first he "pelted Dumbledore with owls" (PS5) asking for advice, but over the years he began to consider Dumbledore more of a threat than anything. He remembered how much popular support there was for the idea of making Dumbledore the Minister for Magic, even though Dumbledore hadn't wanted the job. Fudge came to love his position so much that he turned a blind eye to the return of Voldemort. It wasn't until Fudge saw the Dark Lord himself in June of 1996 that Fudge publicly acknowledged that Voldemort had in fact returned. Shortly thereafter, Fudge was run out of office because of the public outcry against him.

Rufus Scrimgeour 1996-1997
Replaced Fudge as Minister shortly after Voldemort's re-emergence on the scene was publicly acknowledged. Scrimgeour was previously Head of the Aurors, and Dumbledore noted that as such Scrimgeour wouldn't take Voldemort lightly. However, Scrimgeour is willing to allow someone like Stan Shunpike to be arrested and imprisoned unjustly in order to appear to be making some progress in the war against Voldemort. He repeatedly tried to get both Dumbledore and Harry to make a show of supporting the Ministry, but neither would do so when they use such tactics. Scrimgeour was captured by Death Eaters during their takeover of the Ministry (August 1997). He was tortured and killed.

Pius Thicknesse 1997-1998
Previous to becoming Minister for Magic, Thicknesse was the head of the Department of Magical Law Enforcement (DH1). He was placed under the Imperius Curse by the Death Eaters after their takeover of the Ministry of Magic and made a puppet Minister. He was replaced after fighting alongside the Death Eaters during the Battle of Hogwarts (May 1998).

Kingsley Shacklebolt 1998-present
Shacklebolt, an Auror and a member of the Order of the Phoenix who fought valiantly against the Death Eaters during the Second Wizarding War, took over as Minister for Magic following the Battle of Hogwarts and the defeat of Voldemort. He ushered in a new era of accountability for the Ministry.

Previous Ministers for Magic

Before the Ministry was formed, the governing body was the Wizards' Council. For more information about the Council and its Chiefs, see the History of the Ministry of Magic.

NOTE: In the British versions of the books, this position is referred to as the Minister for Magic, while in the U.S. editions it is called the Minister of Magic.

Primary editor: Steve Vander Ark
Original artwork of Fudge with Dementors © Phénix and Lord Voldemort; used by permission.
Original page date 27 December 2000; Last page update 29 November 2014 SVA.