The Ministry of Magic This page has been updated for Book 7.

Department of Magical Games and Sports

Formed in 1750 (QA6) in the wake of the signing of the Statute of Secrecy in 1692, this Ministry department is assigned the task of enforcing Quidditch regulations particularly to ensure that the sport does not attract Muggle attention (QA5). For example, the Department has tried placing invisibility spells on Quidditch stadiums (DP2) and has even gone so far as to confiscate wands from fans attending matches when emotions are running high (DP4). The department is also responsible for overseeing other international competitions such as the Quidditch World Cup and the Triwizard Tournament, which it helped organise in 1994 (GF7).

Known Department personnel, past and present


Hamish MacFarlan (after 1968) (QA7)

Bagman, Ludo (resigned in disgrace 1995)

Other personnel:

Bertha Jorkins (GF3)

Main Offices

The Department's offices are located on Level Seven of Ministry of Magic Headquarters. Here you'll find not only the British and Irish Quidditch League Headquarters but also the Official Gobstones Club and the Ludicrous Patents Office (OP7).

Related links:

Games in the Wizarding world

Quidditch Encyclopedia (includes regulations, fouls, etc)

Primary editor: Steve Vander Ark
Original page date 27 December 2000; Last page update 20 November 2009 SVA